Saskatchewan Independent Film Awards (2016)


The Saskatchewan Filmpool Cooperative is very pleased to present the 2016 Saskatchewan Independent Film Awards (SIFA). The event celebrates Saskatchewan’s best independent films and filmmakers, and showcases to the entire province our own filmmaking talents and unique Saskatchewan culture.

SIFA is presented by the Saskatchewan Filmpool Cooperative an organization dedicated to the production and exhibition of independent, visionary, Saskatchewan-made, film and video art.

Now in its third year, the 2016 SIFA will be held November 24 at Regina’s Artesian Theatre. The evening will begin with a screening of the nominated films and conclude with a hosted award ceremony. This year’s hosts are local improv performers Andrew Parry and Cameron Chomyn, with musical guests T.B. Judd.

 Tickets available at the door.

This year, the 2016 SIFA Committee is delighted to announce a new award category for Best Feature Film. By recognizing this category, the Committee acknowledges the consistent growth within our independent film community over the past few years.

And the Nominees are…


2016 SIFA Nominees

Best (Short) Film:

Please Rate Your Experience – Jeremy Ratzlaff
Trio – John Graham
Der Glockner – Chrystene Ells and Berny Hi
Ilsa the Far Seer – Ian Campbell
Lookout – Kyath Battie

Best Student Film:

It’s Good for You! – An An
Dreamers – Kolby Kostyniuk
SAARI – Ella Mikkola
Time Frame – Joel Kereluke

Best Feature Film:

The Sabbatical – Brian Stockton
VOUS ETES ICI – Mark Wihak
The Land of Rock and Gold – Daniel Redenbach and Janine Windolph
Patient 62 – Rick Anthony
Voice from the Wilderness – Jason Britski
Basic Human Needs – Matt Yim

Best Acting:

Laura Abramsen, Basic Human Needs
Charity Bradfield, The Land of Rock and Gold
James Whittingham, The Sabbatical
Ron Anderson, Dreamers
Abby Thiessen, Stigma

Best Technical Achievement:

Jason Cullimore, Score, Der Glockner
Ella Mikkola, Picture and Sound Editing, SAARI
Pulsewidth, Score, The Land of Rock and Gold
Berny Hi, Director of Photography, Please Rate Your Experience


SIFA would like to thank all its partners, sponsors, supporters, as well as the 40 filmmakers who submitted their short and feature length films for competition.


Congratulations to all this years SIFA winners!

Best Short Film – Der Glockner Chrystene Ells Berny Hi

Best Student Film – SAARI Ella Mikkola

Best Feature Film – VOUS ETES ICI Mark Wihak

Best Acting – Charity Dawn Bradfield The Land of Rock and Gold

Best Technical Achievement Ella Mikkola Picture and Sound Editing SAARI

Audience Choice – Der Glockner

sifa2016_web_0010337 sifa2016_web_0010376 sifa2016_web_0010360

The Saskatchewan Independent Film Awards are open to all Saskatchewan residents living in the province for one year or longer, and Filmpool Members living outside of the province who have held membership for at least one year.

Call for Submissions

Call for submissions opens September 1st, 2016

The deadline for Call for Submission is October 21, 2016

Please visit FilmFreeWay for all film submission procedures


• The Saskatchewan Independent Film Awards are open to all Saskatchewan residents living in the province for one year or longer. If you are a Filmpool Member living outside of the province, you must have been a member for at least one year.

• The term “Independent” is defined as a film in which the filmmaker retains 100% creative control over.

• Films submitted should not exceed 15 minutes, except in the category of Best Feature Film whereby the film must be no less than 50 minutes in length

• Films must have been completed in the past two years and not have been submitted to the previous SIFA Screenings.

• Submissions of all types will be considered (documentary, narrative, experimental, animation, etc.)

Award Categories

• Best Film – Jury’s Choice

• Best Student Film

• Best Acting

• Audience Choice

• Best Feature Film

Submission Procedure

• Please visit this FilmFreeWay link for all SIFA guidelines, including eligibility requirements and procedures

• Following the adjudication process, applicants will be notified if their film has been selected to be included in the 2016 SIFA Screening

• IMAA standards for artist’s fees will be honoured for all selected filmmakers

• All selected SIFA Screening filmmakers will be encouraged to attend the 2016 SIFA event, or to send a representative

• All submitted films will be also considered for the Filmpool’s Screening Under the Steeple event in May 2017


• This is a competitive process juried by a panel of three professional independent filmmakers

• Films selected for the SIFA Screening will be assessed under the context of the Filmpool’s mandate.

• The Filmpool retains the right to deem certain content inappropriate for a general audience.

• The final decision regarding interpretation of the eligibility of any production for consideration for the SIFAs will be the responsibility of the Filmpool and the 2016 SIFA Committee.


SIFA 2015

WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien